House of Deputies

We are fortunate to have three living past presidents of the House of Deputies.

Bonnie AndersonBonnie Anderson served as president of the House of Deputies from 2006-2012.

Anderson is known in the Episcopal Church as a champion for the ministry of the laity, an advocate for marginalized people, a preacher who speaks to the people in the pew, and a skilled community organizer. She presided over the 800+ members of the House of Deputies as a fair-minded, skilled parliamentarian, grounded in love for Christ Jesus.

George WernerThe Very Rev. George L. W. Werner served for six years as the 31st president of the House of Deputies. He was elected at General Convention in 2000 in Denver and re-elected in 2003 in Minneapolis. From 1994 to 2000, he served as vice-president under President Dr. Pamela Chinnis. He served eight terms as a deputy and as deputation chair from the Diocese of Pittsburgh.

According to a 2006 story by Episcopal News Service, Werner "was especially proud of bringing more young people into the workings of General Convention."

The Very Rev. David B. Collins, dean emeritus of the Cathedral of St. Philip in Atlanta, served as president of the House of Deputies from 1985-1991. He served as vice president of the House from 1979 until his election as president.

According to an Episcopal News Service story on the occasion of his election, "Collins played a highly visible and much-applauded role in the tumultuous 1976 convention, when the committee he chaired handled the issue of women's ordination. He has served on the Presiding Bishop's Advisory Committee on Evangelism and Renewal, the Church Deployment Board and the Church Pension Fund Board of Trustees."

Collins was a graduate of the University of the South. He has served parishes in Arkansas and was chaplain at his alma mater from 1953-1966. He was dean of St. Philip's from 1966-1984. He died on December 29, 2016 at the age of 94.